Engineer/Producer of 10 yrs seeks a 'High Level Teacher'

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

HT
alignin' 24-trk

Engineer/Producer of 10 yrs seeks a 'High Level Teacher'

Post by HT » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:51 pm

Dear Tape Op-

I am an engineer, producer, and composer of 10 years. I also manage a recording studio that is wonderfully built and gorgeous. We have an SSL and all sorts of great gear. All of this- and I have had a wonderful run recording plenty of Chicago Indie rock bands and some commercial stuff.

I need help though. I would like to go to the next tier of recording. I have recorded indie groups that get recognition with my recordings- but I wonder what I need to go further? What does it mean to go further? The next level to me, means, the national / international level of artists- however- I feel like who ever can teach me- might have a better idea of what "next level" means for me.

I have listened to all of the Pensado's places. I have read tape op for 8 years. I have read books and more. I feel like having someone to talk to will help me with this though.

Can you help me?

My website is:
www.jonathanalvin.com
My e-mail is:
jonathan.alvin.sound@gmail.com

A funny story:

I recently was at a panel where a producer / engineer who worked on many many great albums was speaking. He said one of the things that is missing today is teachers, and that he sat behind someone for 3 years before engineering. He said, "what a shame." After the speech I went up to him and asked him if he could teach me- if I could sit in on a session- If there was anything I could do to learn more from him. He just replied no. :?:

So if you're able to help or would like to talk about this- please get in touch with me- I want to go far!

Again-
Get in touch if you can help.

joninc
dead but not forgotten

Post by joninc » Sat Nov 16, 2013 2:50 pm