Audio interface issues, (probably a beaten dead horse topic)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

mikethomasmusic
audio school graduate

Audio interface issues, (probably a beaten dead horse topic)

Post by mikethomasmusic » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:41 am

I'm sure this topic is like beating a dead horse around here,but I'm still relatively new to computer audio,after years of using just outboard gear,so any help would be much appreciated. Here is my situation.

Any ideas or fix suggestions when getting frequent almost white noise sounding crackling and distorting?

For songwriter demos I'm using one of those cheap $159 two xlr-two 1/4 inch input ins, 2 channel audio usb interfaces with Logic pro on a late 2008 basic macbook. Not that it probably matters but,I sometimes switch between logic pro x and logic pro 9. Although, now that I'm getting more used to working with Logic X I'm switching between the two less and less.

I can understand this happening when I'm sometimes trying to record because you can experience things like performance,latency, and buffer size issues,but sometimes I will just have a web browser open listening to audio on youtube and out of no where the audio will randomly start to crackle and distort,sounding almost like white noise.