that compressed sound from iPhone recordings etc

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Bobbydecay
audio school

that compressed sound from iPhone recordings etc

Post by Bobbydecay » Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:37 am

We always record our band practices on an iphone in the corner of the room, and generally get the ideas we need down.

I'm also a hobbyist recordist, and now and again I'll spend a weekend utilising the assortment of mid range gear and knowledge i've accumulated over the years recording our songs. Spending time tuning up the drums, treating the room, trying techniques I've read on here etc.

I master them in ozone and stick them in itunes to compare with other stuff. While what i've done always sounds 'fine', 'nice' 'good', when one of our shitty band practice recordings from an iphone comes on I always prefer it. They're generally louder and more exciting sounding.

Time to master to iphone? Does anyone else get this sometimes? No mater what I do in ozone the nasty pumping compression of the smartphone recorder generally sounds cooler and more alive (!)

Drone
re-cappin' neve

Post by Drone » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:37 am

I have an MP3 recorder that's the same, I put it down to the AGC or compression of the unit.

Though when you are recording 'properly' are you doing it in a band situation or one instrument at a time? Nothing beats the loose band vibe I find.
The previous statement is from a guy who records his own, and other projects for fun. No money is made.

Bobbydecay
audio school

Post by Bobbydecay » Tue Sep 15, 2015 11:16 am

Yeah I think your right with the agc. Perhaps I should find a suitable plug in and apply to an ambient mic.

I've done both live in the room and separate recordings and you're right, those one instrument at a time tracks tend to sound pretty flat. Even if at the time I thought I was performing my part 'loose' and with 'feel'