so, i need some good headphones to use with my laptop...

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
shiitake
audio school

so, i need some good headphones to use with my laptop...

Post by shiitake » Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:38 pm

i am very very VERY new to anything recording. luckily Tape Op was pretty much the first place i came when i realized that I was wanting to get into recording music.

currently i'm running Reason on my PC Laptop and I'm needing some headphones that are not TOO high-end, but will be better than the run of the mill, best buy cans. also, my experience has always been that headphones from large retail chains are generally going to fall apart on you at any time.

anyway, what would you guys recommend?

-shannon

Brian Brock
buyin' a studio

Re: so, i need some good headphones to use with my laptop...

Post by Brian Brock » Sun Apr 18, 2004 8:24 pm

If you don't care about bleed from the headphones to mics, you can get what are called open back headphones - they achieve a decent sound at lower cost, I believe. AKG, etc, makes them at a lot of prices.

If you want to use headphones that isolate what you're hearing from the outside, you can get closed back headphones. I think the Sony 7506 are pretty popular around here.

dubold
steve albini likes it

Post by dubold » Wed Apr 21, 2004 11:02 am

I use a pair of Sony mdr 7506 headphones and have been completely happy with them. Mostly I got them because there are a couple pairs at the studio where I work and I wanted to have something at home that I could compare mixes with. I was using a cheaper pair of sony headphones that I bought years ago at Best Buy or something. They held up well but didn't sound as good as the 7506s. they go for about $100 but i've seen them used for $75 or so.

-d

fillmoresound
gimme a little kick & snare

Post by fillmoresound » Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:23 pm