Vegas dB S/N ratio?! pleasehelpmeOB1

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
Ivon
steve albini likes it

Vegas dB S/N ratio?! pleasehelpmeOB1

Post by Ivon » Wed Apr 28, 2004 4:36 am

Vegas is set for receiving input signals at -6 dBs. Watching the meter while I record, the meter indicates that the signal is not clipping...when I play back the recorded track, however, there is obvious clipping. Should I not trust the Vegas input meters when tracking? Has anyone experienced this clipping when recording vocs or acoustic guitar? How should I go about compensating for this difference in dB acceptance? I've never had this clipping problem running the same setup to my console. I'm new to PC (not politcally correct, mind you) recording. If anyone has suggestions and/or experience with Vegas in particular, please ... help ............. me. The clipping is making me mad!

Ivonoviche Stankowski

JamesHE
steve albini likes it

Re: Vegas dB S/N ratio?! pleasehelpmeOB1

Post by JamesHE » Thu Apr 29, 2004 3:44 pm

iwokojance wrote:Vegas is set for receiving input signals at -6 dBs. Watching the meter while I record, the meter indicates that the signal is not clipping...when I play back the recorded track, however, there is obvious clipping. Should I not trust the Vegas input meters when tracking? Has anyone experienced this clipping when recording vocs or acoustic guitar? How should I go about compensating for this difference in dB acceptance? I've never had this clipping problem running the same setup to my console. I'm new to PC (not politcally correct, mind you) recording. If anyone has suggestions and/or experience with Vegas in particular, please ... help ............. me. The clipping is making me mad!

Ivonoviche Stankowski