Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
Locked
theslack64
audio school
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 8:24 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

Post by theslack64 » Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:00 pm

Hi all, I'm a Pro Tools newbie, having just performed a fresh install of XP on my recently re-worked, dedicated music production system. I'm having problems with Pro Tools LE 6.4 spitting DAE error -6087 at me when I attempt to play back recorded tracks. My hardware interface is a Digi 002 rack.

System:
ASUS A7M266-D motherboard (latest BIOS, v 1010), South Bridge: AMD-768 chipset, North Bridge: AMD-762 chipset, dual AMD-Athlon MP 2000+ processors (~1.67Ghz), 1 GB ECC DDR RAM (registered), eVGA Geforce 5500 FX graphics card, Maxtor 4 port USB 2.0 card, Adaptec Fireconnect 4300 firewire card, Linksys Wireless-G network adapter, SiL 0680 ATA133 RAID/IDE controller card, 400 watt ATA-style power supply, Black Dragon full-tower PC case, USB Microsoft Optical mouse, standard keyboard.

Harddrives: (1) Seagate 160GB drive (partitions: system, storage, applications), (1) Western Digital 80GB drive (two 40GB partitions, each intended for Pro Tools recording use), (1) Maxtor 80GB drive (ATA 133, installed on the RAID/IDE card--using as IDE, more storage). Drives are using DMA.

Peripherals: Plextor Plexwriter CD-RW (40x), Sony DVD-RW (USB-External), M-Audio Audiophile 2496 (USB-External).

Display: Samsung Syncmaster 171v flat panel LCD (analog connection)

Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP1 (patched)

Virtual memory set as follows: 100MB min/512MB max on the system drive. 512MB min/512MB max on a 2GB partition on my Maxtor drive. There is no swap allocated on the physical drive Pro Tools is tracking to.

Software installed: T-Racks 24 stand-alone application, Pro Tools LE 6.4, T-Racks EQ plugin/Amplitube plugin (bundled w/Digi 002 rack), free Bomb Factory plugins, Sonic Foundry Acid Pro 4.0, Sound Forge 6.0, Winamp, Quick Time, Real Player, WinZip, Adaware, CWShredder, Spybot Search and Destroy, Spyware Blaster, Cookie Monster.

Troubleshooting attempted so far:
1.) turned off all USB peripherals (w/exception of USB Mouse--may use PS2 adapater to move it off of USB temporarily as well).
2.) disabled network card (wireless)
3.) Set graphic display to 16 bit
4.) optimized for background services, system cache, optimized for "best performance"
5.) ran disk clean up on all drives, then defragged all drives.
6.) made sure all drivers for components were up to date.
7.) disabled all but essential startup items. Nothing active in taskbar.
8.) system configured for Windows classic view for "Start" and through Display properties.
9.) screen saver and power options all disabled.
10.) display set to 60Hz
11.) error reporting disabled
12.) remote assistance/remote desktop are disabled
13.) Automatic Updates disabled.
14.) System restore set to "off" for all drives.
15.) no conflicts with IRQ's, or warnings listed in Device Manager.
16.) Read through and followed instructions on Windows Optimization in the "Getting Started With Digi 002 Rack" guide.
17.) Have been mucking with the settings in the Playback Engine area of Pro Tools LE 6.4, attempting to find some combination that will allow for playback w/o the DAE -6087 error. No Dice!
18.) have logged an email ticket with Digidesign regarding this issue.
19.) have been looking through the posts here on the User Conference (however, it seems that the search feature doesn't work all that well)
20.) have searched for related issues via Google and Yahoo, keying on the specific DAE error, combined with WIN XP and/or Pro Tools LE. Used following keywords, as well: troubleshooting, optimization, installation, configuration, conflicts, compatibility.
21.) searched the Digidesign Answerbase.

The session I recorded was 8 tracks of audio, patched in from a Tascam DA-38. The session was set up to record at 24 bit, 44.1khz. Recording appears to have completed okay; however, playback simply chokes. I'd imagine I have enough system memory, the drive is completely free for Pro Tools tracking/playback. No plugins are being used at this time.

I am thinking my next move would be to uninstall as many non-essential, non Digi software programs as I can, to see if it's a conflict with something else I have installed, though I'm guessing it's probably more of a hardware setting or OS tweak.

If anyone out there has any suggestions of things I could try to get this stuff working, nice and stable-like, I'd appreciate. Oh, and currently, purchasing a MAC G5 is not an option.

Thanks,

Carl
rawkstar@aol.com

Al_Huero
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:58 am
Location: Vista
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

Post by Al_Huero » Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:42 pm

Are your hard drives all internal or are some of the external (firewire drives)? I had a similar problem on a Mac, using the 002R with two external firewire audio drives. Seems the 002R and the drives need to be on separate busses to avoid conflicts. I installed a separate PCI card with additional firewire ports and this fixed the problem.

User avatar
kcrusher
tinnitus
Posts: 1200
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 7:28 am
Location: Location! Location!
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

Post by kcrusher » Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:42 pm

I see you have RAID - you need to disable any RAID controllers from the BIOS.

Also - do you get this error playing back from all drives or just a specific drive? To test this do a 'Save Session Copy In' from the File menu to a different drive, making sure to copy all audio files. Close the current session, open the one you just saved and try playing back.

Are those processors Athlon XP or T-Birds? I've not heard of an MP processor...
America... just a nation of two hundred million used car salesmen with all the money we need to buy guns and no qualms about killing anybody else in the world who tries to make us uncomfortable.
- Hunter S. Thompson

theslack64
audio school
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 8:24 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

Post by theslack64 » Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:15 pm

Al_Huero: I'm pretty sure the 002R and the drives are on sep. busses. The 002R is connected to an Adaptec Firewire PCI card, the drives are all internal, the audio drive is connected as the Slave drive on the primary bus (the system drive is the Master).

bombastique: I do have RAID disabled. I made sure that the RAID card is set up to act as a straight-up IDE controller. I haven't tried playing back from any other drives yet. That's a good suggestion. I will have to try that, and will post results.

An AMD "MP" (MP stands for Multi-processor) 2000+ is roughly equivalent to running a dual Pentium class 1.67Ghz.
"I'm drunk--I'm nobody, I'm drunk--I'm famous, I'm drunk--I'm DEAD" (Dennis Leary summarizes The Doors)

User avatar
kcrusher
tinnitus
Posts: 1200
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 7:28 am
Location: Location! Location!
Contact:

Re: Pro Tools LE 6.4 DAE -6087 error on playback--HELP?

Post by kcrusher » Thu Jul 08, 2004 8:42 am

Have you tried turning HW acceleration off in your Display control panel?
America... just a nation of two hundred million used car salesmen with all the money we need to buy guns and no qualms about killing anybody else in the world who tries to make us uncomfortable.
- Hunter S. Thompson

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests