Novice question-home recording setup!

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
thunderbroom
pluggin' in mics

Novice question-home recording setup!

Post by thunderbroom » Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:03 pm

New to the board so greetings all. I am a long time analog guy about to make the digital plunge and after exhaustive researh, have settled on a few options. Here's what I am currently considering:
1) Digi 002 (PT setup w/ the controller)
2) Tascam 1082 (Cubase w/ controller)
3) Standalone (such as Roland VS2480) to track but with seperate editing software.

With any of the above I am also looking at a keyboard controller (25 or 49 keys), a good set of headphones to replace my old Sony 7506's, and a firewire harddrive for any recording work.

My computer setup:
iMac G4 upgraded w/ 512 RAM, 80G harddrive. Will look to add a firewire drive to handle recording and saving files.

If it helps, I am a mostly guitar-based writer.

So my question (finally) is does anyone have a preference for a direction to go? Remembering that I know NOTHING about digital recording other than there is a steep learning curve from my years of analog recording. I know everyone has their preference, I just need to know if it's worth the investment for the digi 002 or is it better to go standalone with some good editing software. Thoughts, ideas, suggestions all welcome! Thanks in advance for all your help and happy new year to all.

Howard
"Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end."
-Semisonic

Larsen
alignin' 24-trk

Re: Novice question-home recording setup!

Post by Larsen » Sat Jan 01, 2005 6:23 pm

Hi, Welcome to the board!