What to replace ProTools with?

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
User avatar
workshed
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Washougal, WA
Contact:

What to replace ProTools with?

Post by workshed » Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:40 am

I'm selling the MBox and embracing the fact that I'm not tied to any one piece of software or hardware with my new/used MOTU 2408. Now I'm trying to decide which digital studio software to use. Since none of these companies seem to believe in releasing demo versions, it kind of sucks to make a decision without much hands-on knowledge. I've UTFSE and I think I've narrowed it down to Logic Express or Digital Performer.

I'm prone to Logic Express mostly because I can get an academic discount on it (half price) and I'm familiar with Garageband, which as I understand it, is a stunted version of Logic.

As for DP, I'm thinking of that one just due to the recommendations I've seen here and the fact that it's put out by MOTU who made my A/D convertor.

I've got Tracktion here and sort of feel indifferent towards it. I probably need to play around with it more.

Garageband 2 will be here tomorrow, but I think that once I start doing more, I will want more power.

I'm on a Mac, will mostly be recording myself and rock bands. I will point out that I love Garageband's software instruments.

I guess this is just a really long-winded way of asking: Do I really need all the fancy wizamajigs that DP provides, or will Logic Express keep me happy for awhile?

Or am I overlooking another option for the Mac?

User avatar
Slider
george martin
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:00 pm

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by Slider » Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:35 am

I don't know how Nuendo is on a Mac, but I really love this program.
It makes so much sense to me.
I have a Dual Opteron PC setup and I am very happy.

sonariste
gimme a little kick & snare
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 3:09 pm

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by sonariste » Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:59 am

Another vote for nuendo.

toastchee
studio intern
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:50 am

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by toastchee » Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:52 pm

Hey man,

Traktion is really nice, and free.

phill2796
audio school graduate
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 7:08 pm
Location: Nashville Tn.

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by phill2796 » Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:47 pm

Nuendo is great but if you are tracking and mixing bands save yourself alot of cash and get Cubase.
Phillp Boshers
AudioGram Pro
Nashville Tn.

User avatar
workshed
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Washougal, WA
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by workshed » Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:04 pm

toastchee wrote:Hey man,

Traktion is really nice, and free.
Yeah, I really should give it more of a chance -- I have it installed, but admittedly have not used it much. I will try it out.

User avatar
workshed
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Washougal, WA
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by workshed » Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:06 pm

phill2796 wrote:Nuendo is great but if you are tracking and mixing bands save yourself alot of cash and get Cubase.
Yeah, I checked out Nuendo and the price tag was pretty high for me. I'm on a budget here. So I will check into Cubase. I do recall someone telling me that Cubase is easier to use than ProTools and I didn't have much of a problem learning ProTools basics.

Which version of Cubase would work best for just tracking bands?

Thanks for all the advice!

User avatar
syrupcore
deaf.
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 4:40 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by syrupcore » Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:20 pm

...snip... tracktion rocks and you already have tracktion!

will

edited out stupid PC suggestions.
Last edited by syrupcore on Thu Jan 27, 2005 5:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3035
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: crooklyn, ny
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by JohnDavisNYC » Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:28 pm

Logic rules, and is only bound to get better and better in terms of integration thanks to apple owning it. and space designer is worth the price alone.

john
i like to make music with music and stuff and things.

http://www.thebunkerstudio.com/

User avatar
Kilroy
buyin' gear
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 6:17 am
Location: Normal, Illinois
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:32 pm

Sony Vegas is a great piece of software, really easy to learn how to use. The studio i used to intern at used vegas with a couple motu pieces. 2408 and the 1224 or whatever it is.

User avatar
workshed
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Washougal, WA
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by workshed » Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:32 pm

toaster3000 wrote:Logic rules, and is only bound to get better and better in terms of integration thanks to apple owning it. and space designer is worth the price alone.

john
That's totally cool to hear. I'm also impressed with all the features that seem to come with it, versus having to buy a ton of expensive plugins to make it work. I just installed GB2, so I will have to play with that soon and see how far it will get me.

FormulaReed
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by FormulaReed » Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:16 pm

I am kind of in the same boat. I like PT but the studio that I am woking out of has DP and I am impressed. Great track count, stable. The quick keys are not as good as PT but the more that i work with it, the more I like it.

Reed
Owner/Engineer Attercop Sound
www.attercop.net

User avatar
theistheman
pushin' record
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 8:44 pm
Location: Edgemont, SD/Chicago, IL

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by theistheman » Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:24 pm

logic. no contest. And logic express 7 is only like $150 with an academic discount.

And tracktion is poo poo.

User avatar
b3groover
deaf.
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 4:07 pm
Location: michigan
Contact:

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by b3groover » Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:29 pm

I use Cubase and I love it. Worth checking out.

junior
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:30 pm

Re: What to replace ProTools with?

Post by junior » Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:54 pm

another vote for cubase/nuendo...
"Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep"...
--Scott Adams

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest