G5 optical digital input

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
Locked
User avatar
mungojeff
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:33 am
Location: Long Beach, CA
Contact:

G5 optical digital input

Post by mungojeff » Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:15 am

I've been shopping for a new mac to run MOTU DP 4.5 and I'm interested in the G5 PowerPC 1.8GHz. On the apple website it lists an optical digital audio input. Does anyone know if this is usable for recording? I'm intending on eventually getting an 828, but am wondering if I can get by till then as long as I'm recording one track at a time.

User avatar
kcrusher
tinnitus
Posts: 1200
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 7:28 am
Location: Location! Location!
Contact:

Re: G5 optical digital input

Post by kcrusher » Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:55 am

Yes, you can - but you'll need an A/D convertor...
America... just a nation of two hundred million used car salesmen with all the money we need to buy guns and no qualms about killing anybody else in the world who tries to make us uncomfortable.
- Hunter S. Thompson

User avatar
kcrusher
tinnitus
Posts: 1200
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 7:28 am
Location: Location! Location!
Contact:

Re: G5 optical digital input

Post by kcrusher » Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:49 pm

aaaaaand you're the one on the right, right?
America... just a nation of two hundred million used car salesmen with all the money we need to buy guns and no qualms about killing anybody else in the world who tries to make us uncomfortable.
- Hunter S. Thompson

User avatar
theistheman
pushin' record
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 8:44 pm
Location: Edgemont, SD/Chicago, IL

Re: G5 optical digital input

Post by theistheman » Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:23 am

I didn't know Divine was into recording.

I loved your work in Pink Flamingos!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest