Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
Locked
User avatar
andrew embassy
george martin
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by andrew embassy » Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:28 pm

I just installed Service Pack 2 for windows XP and now my waves rennaissance compressor won't work. Any ideas?
HEY! Who forgot they bag?

User avatar
Mr. Dipity
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:29 am

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by Mr. Dipity » Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:38 pm

andrew embassy wrote:I just installed Service Pack 2 for windows XP and now my waves rennaissance compressor won't work. Any ideas?
What happens?

User avatar
andrew embassy
george martin
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by andrew embassy » Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:40 pm

"an exception has occurred, certain somethings in this file failed to load"

*hit 'details'*

"Waves Rennaissance compressor failed to load"
HEY! Who forgot they bag?

User avatar
Mr. Dipity
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:29 am

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by Mr. Dipity » Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:48 pm

andrew embassy wrote:"an exception has occurred, certain somethings in this file failed to load"

*hit 'details'*

"Waves Rennaissance compressor failed to load"
Have you tried a reinstall?

What version of the plugin is it? What version of the vst shell are you using? Are you using this as a DX plug?

User avatar
rolandk
buyin' gear
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 4:52 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by rolandk » Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:56 pm

What program are you running?

I have a Digi001, PTLE 6.4, SP2 and the waves comp (and everything else) works fine.
my band: Mission 5

User avatar
andrew embassy
george martin
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by andrew embassy » Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:12 pm

sserendipity wrote:
andrew embassy wrote:"an exception has occurred, certain somethings in this file failed to load"

*hit 'details'*

"Waves Rennaissance compressor failed to load"
Have you tried a reinstall?

What version of the plugin is it? What version of the vst shell are you using? Are you using this as a DX plug?
I don't have the install file anymore, it was in a batch of CD's that got lost in the previous move, sucks.

It's Waves Rennaissance 1.0, and I'm using it (I know, I know) with Acid Pro 4.0, which I don't think supports VST plugins, just Direct X plugins (is that right?)
HEY! Who forgot they bag?

User avatar
theistheman
pushin' record
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 8:44 pm
Location: Edgemont, SD/Chicago, IL

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by theistheman » Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:44 pm

service pack 2 kills everything.

you're damned if you do, and you're damned if you don't.

m_oswald
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:13 am

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by m_oswald » Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:55 am

I work for a major ISP in NY and we have nothing but horror stories regarding SP2.

The best thing to do is set up a dual boot and keep your DAW and internet installs seperate.Keeping all those internet related services off your daw will keep your system running very smoothly.

Do you have Restore on? If so you can just go back a couple of days. These things are all about prevention. Anytime you make a change to your system, back up your registry first. This way you can go back should any issues arise.

Matt

elmacaco
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:30 pm

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by elmacaco » Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:33 pm

SP2 is terrible for audio.

If you don't have restore on, you can uninstall it from the control panel Add or Remove Software. Better to do a Restore I think.

I still can't get AkaiSys to work after SP2, I can't even uninstall it.

Stay away from Windows updates.

midiot
pushin' record
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 5:17 am
Location: mi

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by midiot » Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:42 am

I always tell people who use their computers for audio, to please stay away from these service packs.

I have yet to see that they benefit DAW's in anyway. If you are using your DAW for internet and other use, i would suggest going to the salvation army or second hand store of choice, and buying an older P2 or AMD K6 or something and a monitor for maybe $150 or so. And use that damn thing for internet use.

OR, atleast use different drives or partitions and dual boots to seperate the two!
boom-ptch-boom

User avatar
andrew embassy
george martin
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Service Pack 2 killed my WAVES Compressor?

Post by andrew embassy » Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:33 am

I uninstalled SP2, so yeah, we should be fine. I've got Norton firewall and antivirus, so I think I should be fine as far as security breaches go. Sheesh, Windows...
HEY! Who forgot they bag?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest