mac people: pci 324 to sound manager and back again

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
JES
tinnitus

mac people: pci 324 to sound manager and back again

Post by JES » Sat Dec 27, 2003 8:58 am

[Long preamble]

So for those of you who've seen my other rambles on this part of the site know that I have this weird situation right now where my main computer is also my studio computer. I write for a living, record for a hobby, so when I'm recording I haul the thing down two flights of stairs. No big deal since it's me and another person so the recording isn't spontaneous. But I'd like to be able to "spontaneously" mix when I get an idea.

[/long preamble]

So here's what I want to do. When the computer's hooked up in the basement studio, sound runs in and out of a 2408 hooked to my PCI-324. Up here in my office, it goes out the stereo out to a speaker system in here. I run OSX for everyday apps, but OS9.2.2 and DP 3.11 for audio stuff. Up here, when I switch from the PCI-324 to Sound manager, I can play CDs and hear sounds, but when I run DP, no sound comes out. Ideally, there's be some option for me to toggle so if I get an idea for mixing, I can do it up here once in awhile (I'd still do final EQ and stuff downstairs where the real monitors are). Is there an easy solution? (Yes, I know, buy another fucking computer already -- did I mention I'm cheap?)

Thanks!

--JES

UXB
steve albini likes it

Re: mac people: pci 324 to sound manager and back again

Post by UXB » Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:43 am

Methinks I have an ansarrrrr fer ya, lad!

ahem, sorry, I find myself typing in pirate at times.