kick drumsounds that are awesome

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

djgout
suffering 'studio suck'

kick drumsounds that are awesome

Post by djgout » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:32 pm

So kick sounds have kinda really been on my mind recently. I've been growing really tired of the whole *click'n'boom* action that's been going on. Being a drummer I've been playing a lot with different head and muffling combos to try to see what I can do to make my kick go *THUDD!* and then stop. just *THUDD!* like a merle haggard or old elton john album. I want it to feel like you just got the wind knocked out of you instead of like standing in a tunnel with a starter pistol.
I've completely switched my normal mindset for kickdrums, instead of being empty with a hole in the front head, I've got a huge thick towel folded up and inside with a thin resonant head and no hole. It's really awesome sounding when you just slam your foot down. Maybe I'm just excited because it's a different sound than I'm used to playing, but it's currently my favorite.
Getting it to record properly has been alot of fun too. I was able to borrow a D12 that i had to give back, but it definitly gave that old *THUDD!* that I've been trying to find.

What are some other kick sounds that ya'll think are awesome?

Another one that I love is on Isis' Oceanic...very cool.

-justin
justin herlocker
grindengineering (at) gmail (dot) com

blacklisted
gimme a little kick & snare

Post by blacklisted » Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:16 pm

im a click n boom kinda guy myself but im really diggin that old rockabilly kick drum sound....

surf's up
pushin' record

Post by surf's up » Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:21 pm