creating a reliable, powerful mobile recording system...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

aeijtzsche
gettin' sounds

creating a reliable, powerful mobile recording system...

Post by aeijtzsche » Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:24 pm

I've been recording on my desktop computer at home for 8 years or something, but recently some opportunities have come up for me to do some recording outside of my home. So I'd like to set up a mobile system, very reliable, and self-sufficient. So I could do all the mixing on it, in the box, if need be. I don't need anything terribly fancy, and budget is a concern, but I can spend "some".

Here's what I've decided on for what my needs will be:

I will not need more than 8 simultaneous recording tracks
However, I'd like to have something in the area of 16 potential inputs, probably a small 4-buss (or 8-buss) console for that purpose, with maybe two effects sends.

Basically, I'm looking for suggestions on interfaces and consoles, keeping portablity in mind. Firewire or USB, doesn't matter. I'd prefer to stick with adobe audition on a PC laptop or something, if possible as well as if prudent.

Thanks.

kayagum
ghost haunting audio students

Post by kayagum » Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:51 pm

What's worked great for me is using an Alesis HD24 out in the field with some preamps, then bringing it home and using the Fireport to dump the tracks into Audition for editing and/or in-the-box mixing.

musikman316
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by musikman316 » Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:33 pm