Subwoofer Wiring (turning into a mic)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

deadair
steve albini likes it

Subwoofer Wiring (turning into a mic)

Post by deadair » Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:48 pm

I've seen the various threads regarding turning a speaker into a mic, so i think i have the idea down.....

whats confusing me is that i was just given a subwoofer, i opened it up and there's two sets of terminals on it, i.e. 4 wires coming off the speaker, two from each side. i have no experience with subwoofers, so i don't know if this is common, but it confused me from guitar speaker experience only...... should i solder some of the cables together? ignore some of them? any suggestions would be appreciated. alternate idea being just get a new 15 to put in this cabinet.....

rodabod
takin' a dinner break

Post by rodabod » Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:12 pm

I wonder why there's four wires?......

Have you got a multimeter? Try for two which give roughly the impedance rating of the speaker - there should only be two real connectors - are you sure the wires aren't connected together? I think you'll be ignoring two of them.

Anyway, wire both wires to XLR pins 2 and 3 fix a wire to the speaker chassis going to XLR pin 1. If the phase is wrong, then swap the wires at pins 2 and 3 round.

You may get away running unbalanced using a speaker cable into a mic input though..... Depends how much effort you want to put in.

deadair
steve albini likes it

Post by deadair » Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:50 pm

well, maybe this will help. the speaker wiring on the outside of the box allows for an input left and right input and then an output to left and right speakers after passing through the sub. there's some capacitors back there too, which i'm wondering if act as some sort of a crossover? i don't know much about this stuff, so i'm sorry if this comes across as stupid, just my best guess.