Recording an A Capella group

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

taperocket
gimme a little kick & snare

Post by taperocket » Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:41 pm

Ok, so I have an a capella group interested in recording (this is a first) but I have a few questions because I've never done anything like this before. First of all, they said the last place they recorded at gave all 14 singers an individual mic. To me this seems crazy! I don't have that many mics and I can't imagine the kind of nightmare I would have in terms of phasing, track bleed, and mixing! I was thinking a stereo pair with individual mics for solos. Then spend my time positioning each singer in relation to the mic to get a balanced sound. Any other ideas? If I did it this way would I arrange basses in the middle, etc? Little help! I need to know whether or not to take this session on!

nesta
alignin' 24-trk

Post by nesta » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:07 pm

let me preface this by saying i've never attempted this before...

if you have a multi-pattern mic you might want to throw it in omni and position the singers around it based upon the parts they sing and in relational distance to the mic...for solos you could have the soloist move closer and then step back to their original position...

stereo micing might also be a nice possibility using a similar approach as outlined above for soloists and arranging the different vocal characteristics distance wise from the mike to add depth as needed...

sounds like it will be a lot of fun either way and one hell of a learning experience...

please follow up with your results as i for one would be interested in how you tackle this and the subsequent outcome...

good luck,

nesta

cdbabel
gettin' sounds

Pitch

Post by cdbabel » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:53 pm