Tape Machine Issue

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Al_Huero
suffering 'studio suck'

Tape Machine Issue

Post by Al_Huero » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:41 pm

I'm a new owner and complete noob with a 1/4-in 2-tr machine (Otari MTR-10). I've gone through an initial alignment and calibration best I could. Things sound fine and I'm not planning on sending anything out of the studio on tape--just dumping a digital mix into it and taking it right back in at this point.

The one issue I was having tonight was a loss of level/volume coming back off the tape intermittently. At first I thought maybe it was the tape as I'd used the same one a couple of times through; but even with a new reel I had a noticeable drop in level in one part of the song I was bouncing down; for like 2 - 3 seconds; and then it came back up. Any ideas on what could be causing this? The only part of the calibration that got kind of sketchy was in the biasing; I can find the specifics in the manual if it would help--but it had to do with feeding in a square wave at 10 kHz and getting one back out at multiple speeds. It looked ok at 7.5 ips; but 15 ips was way out and 30 ips, while better, didn't look at all square. I aligned the heads using an MRL tape (I'm running GP9 tape) and they looked fine there.

Any input would be appreciated.

eh91311
buyin' a studio

GP9 issues

Post by eh91311 » Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:08 am

Check here to read about other tapeoppers' problems with GP9
http://messageboard.tapeop.com/viewtopic.php?t=31028

....and here with 456
http://messageboard.tapeop.com/viewtopic.php?t=33323

Al_Huero
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Al_Huero » Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:10 am

Yeah, could be a tape issue. I'm curious if there's something in the way the machine is setup/aligned that could cause the problem as well. I'd like to figure out if it's a tape or mechanical issue.

honkyjonk
dead but not forgotten