help buying a mac

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

hauser gabone
gettin' sounds

help buying a mac

Post by hauser gabone » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:10 am

so, i am currently recording on a 16-track machine and using a PC to mix my songs in acid pro..simple enough...but, i'm moving to vancouver for the summer (maybe longer) and i wanna get a mac and a motu traveler.
i was at the mac store, looking at some powerbooks..but i am totally new to macs and i want to make sure i take care off everything i need to...here is what im looking at.
powerbook g4
# 1.256GB DDR333 (256MB built-in + 1GB SO-DIMM)
# 80GB Ultra ATA drive @ 5400rpm
# 8x SuperDrive (DVD?RW/CD-RW)
# AirPort Extreme Card
# Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
# 1.5GHz PowerPC G4
# NVIDIA GeForce FX GO 5200 with 64MB DDR Video Memory
# 12.1-inch TFT Display

it came out to about 1800 bucks, i would appreciate anyones suggestions.
i'm sitting here in a moustache cause it needs to recharge

helmuth
steve albini likes it

Post by helmuth » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:50 am

there will be a macbook 12,3" widescreen ibook subsitute in a month or so

Jeff White
ghost haunting audio students

Post by Jeff White » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:53 am

My suggestion:

Look for your Powerbook on eBay. I have bought both of my Macs from private auctions on eBay and saved a ton of money (Dual 1.8GHZ G5 - $1670 shipped August 2004... went for $2000 at the time / Powerbook 1.5GHZ 15" Widescreen G4 - $1250 local pickup in Feb '06 - Went for $2000 in April 2005). Just be smart about it.