help set-up logic express w/quattro please!

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

atombee
audio school

help set-up logic express w/quattro please!

Post by atombee » Thu Apr 27, 2006 4:45 pm

Believe it or not I am not a total newbie, but I cannot figure out what I am missing here. I used to have a pretty good setup working a few years ago, but moved away for a while ... now back ... trying to set up recording again & am clueless.

I am using a mac intel mini, a quattro usb interface, logic express and/or garage band ... i have also a little behringer mixer trying to use "tape in & tape out" to go to and from the quattro ...

I have not installed any drivers for the quattro, because i can't find any. I mostly want to record one mono or stereo track at a time, overdubbing.

Right now, I just want to record a guitar track for a song.

I went through the setup assistant in express, no surprises. Went to audio preferences and selected "quattro audiosport" as input & output ... went back to the arrange screen in logic, selected the audio 1 track, hit the record button and the meters just redlined. Luckily no sound was coming out of the quattro into the mixer ...

Can anybody quickly walk me through set up here? I bought the quattro used, no manual, and the logic manual is no real help, and from what I can see, it's supposed to be fairly transparent but I am clearly missing something.

I did do a search, of course, before posting. Couldn't find anything.

Any help greatly appreciated.

-kb

sparky
pushin' record

Post by sparky » Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:39 pm

I have a quattro and I use logic. First things first, get the drivers at m-audio.com
http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=support.drivers