school? internship?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

hauser gabone
gettin' sounds

school? internship?

Post by hauser gabone » Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:28 pm

how did you guys get into this biz?
i started out on a 4-track, then 8-track, so on...now im using a powerbook. i was attending classes at my community college for audio engineering but they were very dissapointing...with too small a budget and teachers who's priorities lay elsewhere.
now, i would like to have a career in audio, it doesnt have to be a studio that i own, but a job where i can do what i love and just work with sound and music. should i find another school? or try and find a studio in philly to take me as an intern? i appreciate any response.
i'm sitting here in a moustache cause it needs to recharge

bickle
takin' a dinner break

Post by bickle » Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:19 am

Well, I'm no pro - I just record my own music at home - but I have some maybe related info: I used to work as a sound guy for film, doing mostly location dialog recording, and some post-production stuff. In my experience, film school kids were sort of scoffed at, with the general impression being that they'd wasted time in school not learning much when the rest of us were out working. In film, you learn a whole lot every day you work, but you don't really gain much practical knowledge in school, even in a good program; I think working in a professional studio vs. audio school would be similar. And film school kids, after graduation, generally start in the same place everyone else does: Fetching coffee for free.