Bootleg programs, universal binaries: help a proaudio newbie

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Marlonious Thunk
audio school

Bootleg programs, universal binaries: help a proaudio newbie

Post by Marlonious Thunk » Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:42 am

So I am a college student (read: no money) looking to get a very basic home studio set up with the following components to be bought: a new computer (new iMac), a Presonus interface, and my friend's copy of digital performer. I'm not trying to record pro quality albums with this, just be able to do some demo quality multitracking at home as well as sequence MIDI for film scoring.

So my questions are: does DP 4 have a download to be compatible with the Intel running iMacs? Can I download stuff from MOTU if its not my copy of the program (I've been told I can)? Will I be able to download universal binary versions of all the DP plug-ins? Should I just get a powermac G4 instead and simplify my life? Is this whole plan completely stupid?

Any direction that any of you can give me is greatly appreciated.

Best,
Marlon

chris harris
speech impediment

Post by chris harris » Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:30 am

the whole plan is stupid in that you're planning on spending a couple of thousand bucks on a computer and hardware and then justifying the theft of the software by saying that you have no money.

use whatever free software is probably going to be bundled with your interface. or, use Garageband.

then save for your own copy of DP or whatever software you choose.

being poor is often the reason that people turn to crime to get what they want. but, it's no excuse for knowingly stealing something. and, it's particularly offensive to me since I just got the cash together to LEGALLY PURCHASE my copy of DP5.

UXB
steve albini likes it

Post by UXB » Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:44 am

Perhaps you should use garageband which came free with your computer?