Mic Pre's VS. Mics (rant)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

MattGrabe
gettin' sounds

Mic Pre's VS. Mics (rant)

Post by MattGrabe » Sat Sep 09, 2006 1:37 am

Yah, this is just a rant. But I'm also looking to see if I'm alone on this or not :)

I have been recording for quite a few years now, on a regular basis. I have my part in a good amount of the "mid sized" local band records that come out in my area. I have an okay setup, typically Digi002 / G5 rig. And sure enough, I spend a lot of time looking at what mic pre I should buy next. Currently, I have a SOLO610, Trident S20, and Trident 4T (also doubles as my bands live vocal strip, main reason for purchase). But I have done records on API's, Aurora GTQ's, Milliennias, etc.

It seems to be a pretty common trend for us smaller studios to research which mic pre is going to get us what sound, and spend big bucks on them ($1,000 - $2,500 a channel!). They look sweet in the rack :) But what about microphones? My highest end mic is an AudioTechnica 4033, amongst SM57's, an i5, a 421, a Beta 91, etc.

Do I hear the difference in mic pres? Yes, I do. However, I hear a SIGNIFICANT difference between microphones. Much more then switching up a mic pre. I think you know what my "rant" is getting at :) I have done some recordings lately, and have a new $5,000 budget for upgrades in gear. I'm going to be getting some higher end microphones. But I do understand why it's easy to be caught up in mic pres before microphones, like I said before, they look sweet in the rack.

Professor
ghost haunting audio students

Post by Professor » Sat Sep 09, 2006 4:30 am

Funny thing is, I rip on people for this all the time.
Though don't get me wrong, I certainly love what an outboard preamp can do as an improvement over a console, but I know it's nothing compared to simply swapping the microphone out and getting the sound right from the start.