Holy Crap Big rooms own

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

amishsixstringer
takin' a dinner break

Holy Crap Big rooms own

Post by amishsixstringer » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:55 am

Wow! I've been doing recordings for a few years (I'm only 21) in a fairly large basement (large for a basement, small for a "studio") with ok results. I made 12 bass traps and high frequency/mid absorbers with oc703 which helped the room out tremendously, but I'm back at school and a band that I could NOT pass up working with wanted me to do their record (There are 2 really nice studios in town, but the client didn't like the results from their studio as well as mine. Pretty good to hear actually). So, I muscled my way into a TV studio to do do drum tracking. The ceiling is 25' and the room is huge and kind of odd shaped with a large curtain that goes around the whole room from 10' high to the floor. I put the drums up on a 5" riser with fiberglass packed underneath it. The drums were quite awful, actually. It was an old TAMA rockstar or something. Once, tuned they were ok, but the kick was really hard to get right. Anyhow, after doing the basic tracking I brought my rig back to my place and started sorthing things out and WOAH! The drums even in mono had this HUGE sense of space, but had as much punch as I could ever ask for out of a PTLE rig. The band is absolutely excited about the sound and I think I may start charging more to record down here due to that room alone. Anyhow, I guess the whole point of this is BUILD A BIG ASS ROOM FOR DRUMS. Shit, I couldn't even imagine what a nice DW or OC would sound like in there. And....that's not even really a drum room. It's just a big room. With some additional treatment or more ideal dimensions it could be a great thing. F 8 foot ceilings. I don't think I'll track drums in my basement ever again.