tape sync'ing

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

motorlynx
audio school

tape sync'ing

Post by motorlynx » Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:12 am

Hi guy's, This is a first time log-in so I hope I'm in the right area. I have a question for you that I hope someone can help me with. I have an awesome sounding Otari mx 5050mklll 8 track 1/2 inch, I am also about to buy a tascam msr 1/2 inch 16 track. The idea is to sync both together so I have a nice number of analogue i/o's. Is this possible, and how would I go about it?
I have been recording to computer for over ten years using protools. A mate presented me with the otari at a price I could not refuse. I took it without really wanting it and platched it into my studio. Wham, bam, thankyou mister space man! It really does sound that awesome. The 2 db shift around the 100 mhz is nice and the saturation is golden, I'm hooked.

So, can any body help me out there??

p.s By the way in case anybody's interested, Tasmania is a beautiful Island at the bottom of Australia, clean air, rain forests, blue water and white sands.
Nature isn't something apart from us, it is a part of us! Take a walk in a forest, you'll be glad you did.

Mark Alan Miller
dead but not forgotten

Post by Mark Alan Miller » Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:32 am

Might be better in 'Gear Talk' but whatever...:)

You will need a synchroniser specifically for syncing analog transports, one that can control the transport of at least one of those decks. Tascam made one that I think is compatible with your MSR, and I think either a TimeLine Lynx or an Adams-Smith Zeta Three could control that Otari.
You will then stripe SMPTE on one track of each deck, which will be fed to the sync box to tell everybody where everybody else is. Yes, one track on each machine must be dedicated to time code.

That's the short of the long of it at least.
he took a duck in the face at two and hundred fifty knots.