Drummer looking to make drum tracks on a computer

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

jamiemcparland
audio school

Drummer looking to make drum tracks on a computer

Post by jamiemcparland » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:47 pm

Drummer looking to make drum tracks on a computer.

I'm a drummer and guitar player that recently lost my practice space and moved into an airstream so i have very limited space.

I'm wanting to write songs and work on music with my newfound extra time. I have a Macbook Pro, a m-audio keyboard that has midi/usb on it, DP5 and a toneport. Garageband and logic express.

My ball up is i want to make some good sounding drum tracks to play guitar over.

I'm just a rocker, Basically i know how to use DP as a digital 4 track. I don't know about quantizing, and all that stuff. So I don't really know where to start. I'd be into buying some software i need, but i don't know what i need. I look at software and it starts taking about synths and all this other stuff i don't care about. It's like it's aimed at keyboard guys which i am not

Does anyone have any suggestions on some great drum sequencing software for Mac OSX? Is that even what i need? Is that even what it's called?

I'd like something midi i guess so i can trigger drum sounds (like with the Bun E Carlos sample cd) I don't really know what I'm talking about here.

Also I don't mind using the keyboard for input but some sort of drum pad that i could hit with sticks would be cool. I would think stuff would sound allot more real then.

I'm just so confused argh!
Thanks!
Jamie

digitaldrummer
ghost haunting audio students

Post by digitaldrummer » Thu Nov 09, 2006 7:09 pm