Is it time to hang it up?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Garthplinko
gettin' sounds

Is it time to hang it up?

Post by Garthplinko » Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:53 pm

I took some mixes over to a mentor type and listened to them and they were god awful. It was really embarassing - especially since I thought I'd left the studio with something I could show-off. The hi-hats and cymbals too over-powering. Too much reverb. Snare sounded really really weak. Bass guitar was too low. The vocals sounded really dull. All this among other things.

I've done decent mixes before - I'm hoping this is just a fluke.

I was/am EXTREMELY disheartened by this - I kinda wonder if I just maybe don't have the ear for this. Listening to other people's examples, I know it's not the lack of gear - I've heard much MUCH better sounds from other tapeop-ers with a $100 condenser and an M-box.

I've been doing it for 10 years and had my shingle out for 8 doing quick-n-dirty demos for local bands on the cheap, but it just seems like I can't break into a higher-level. Maybe I'm just burned out and need a break.
"Just because you don't like it don't mean it ain't no good."

;ivlunsdystf
ghost haunting audio students
Location: The Great Frontier of the Southern Anoka Sand Plain

Post by ;ivlunsdystf » Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:55 pm

Two words: GREYHOUND ODYSSEY.

No, but really, let's hear some of this stuff. I bet we can help cheer you up. Don't we all feel this way every few weeks?

JamesHE
steve albini likes it

Post by JamesHE » Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:27 pm

nah my mixes alwayas sound awsome, it's my music that sux.

If it sounded good in your studio and Awful, Just Awful (tm) at his place obviously it's his monitoring system that isn't up to stuff. :roll:
a spoon full weighs a ton

http://soundcloud.com/james-eure

syrupcore
deaf.

Post by syrupcore » Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:27 pm