Trash or Treasure?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

stringrazor
audio school

Trash or Treasure?

Post by stringrazor » Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:34 pm

This old tape machine was left in my garage. I have no idea if it works or not and am trying to decide if it should go to the electronics discard pile at the town recycle center or on ebay.

larger images:
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e273/ ... g_7208.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e273/ ... g_7209.jpg

BTW, new member here. I'm a guitarist, play live, record at home using Sonar 6, started with TASCAM 144 then Fostex A8 (still have 'em).

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:39 am

at the very least try plugging your guitar into it. These things can make great little tube amps.

???????
resurrected

Post by ??????? » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:26 am

don't throw it away without looting it for its tubes first.

vibesof20hz
gettin' sounds

Post by vibesof20hz » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:22 pm

Little treasures like this are great if your into electronics. Even if you dont know anything about electronics, get a book from radioshack and see what you can change or modify. Just take it apart and see how it works. I cant speak for you, but things like that seems like an afternoon of good fun to me.

nopenopenope
gettin' sounds

Post by nopenopenope » Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:28 pm

vibesof20hz wrote:Little treasures like this are great if your into electronics. Even if you dont know anything about electronics, get a book from radioshack and see what you can change or modify. Just take it apart and see how it works. I cant speak for you, but things like that seems like an afternoon of good fun to me.