Let's talk cymbals...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

LifeGoesOff
gimme a little kick & snare

Let's talk cymbals...

Post by LifeGoesOff » Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:44 am

I'm a crappy drummer at best. But as an engineer I'm tired of fighting with sounds when drummers bring in their P.O.S. kit with crappy loud ass gigging cymbals, so for the last couple of months I've been buying drum stuff here and there (kicks snares hats etc) so I can offer these guys a better alternative that's going to translate better for recording.

I'm looking for a nice ride now that's going to sound nice in the mix, somewhat dry but soft. I checked out the Zildjian K Custom Dry ride and it had a really nice ping to it and the decay was great but too heavy I think for recording purposes.

Anyone have favorites? I'm assuming I'm going to get a thousand votes for the Constantinople here. :D

xonlocust
tinnitus

Post by xonlocust » Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:49 am

zildjian sweet ride. goes great from defined attack w/o sounding like a super heavy metal ride, all the way through washiness. can also be used as a super large crash.

this cymbal rules. sounds great crashed. or quiet light riding. everywhere in between. readily avail on ebay.

it's been my ride for about 4 yrs now w/heavy use no probs. a good friend of mine uses a pair as his crashes as well.

i have 2 but only use the main one on my main kit, the other is for home/studio.

you can hear it go from really light riding at the beginning to full on whaling the fuck out of at the end. it's a long song though so be forewarned. and it starts w/drum machine so drums dont come in till like 2 min in.

http://www.newblack.net/mp3/05devilinmycar.mp3

Gebo
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Gebo » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:36 pm

I hate cymbals... seriously.
As it was in the begining, so shall it be in the end...

LifeGoesOff

Post by LifeGoesOff » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:52 pm