Dual Tube Mic Pre Advice...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

eggwar
audio school graduate

Dual Tube Mic Pre Advice...

Post by eggwar » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:38 am

I've never used a mic preamp before that was not part of a mackie or tascam board, so i need some advice. willing to spend about $1500 ? $2000. want something with tubes (because tubes are better/warmer right?), di, and 2 channels.

i'm looking at these right now:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SuPRE/

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ADL600

any opinions?

thanks!

ToddP
audio school graduate

Re: Dual Tube Mic Pre Advice...

Post by ToddP » Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:36 am

eggwar wrote: (because tubes are better/warmer right?),
Wrong. Don't limit yourself that way. Some of the most popular preamps that people refer to as "warm", especially in your price range, are solid state. There are great tube pres and great solid state pres in your price range, but just because someone stuck a tube in it doesn't make it "better", or "warm."

Good luck...

versuviusx
re-cappin' neve

Post by versuviusx » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:50 am

dude if i had that kind of money i would get a germanium or some of the hamptones. you should hear what it sounds like before you buy.there are lots of places which will send you gear to try out before you make a purchase. i think you're going about it not the best way. but you learn a ton from experiences...that's why i think you should audition before you buy.

eggwar
audio school graduate

Post by eggwar » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:53 am

thanks, i'll look into that.

supersockmonkey
gimme a little kick & snare

Post by supersockmonkey » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:02 am