-Personal Crisis-

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Kasey
pushin' record

-Personal Crisis-

Post by Kasey » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:15 pm

I know this isn't totally on topic with recording, but I suppose it is for the most part, and this seemed to be the fairly appropriate forum to post this in. I'd really love any advice anyone could offer, I'm really stressing out right now.

I'm about to be a senior in high school. I'm 17 and I live in St. Louis. I've been recording and building my own personal studio for the past six years. I've learned a ton within that time frame, and I think I can say without losing all modesty that I've become fairly skilled at recording. I've invested about $5,000 into my studio to date, and I've been recording local bands all summer, and by the end of this summer the studio will have almost completely paid for itself. I'm also about to start trying to get an internship at one of the few professional studios downtown.

I want to be a recording engineer. I understand how difficult the path to being a successful recording engineer is, but there is nothing more I'd love to do with my life.

With this in mind, I've spent the past year making plans to attend Columbia College in Chicago, to major in audio arts and acoustics. I realize that recording school is often sort of scoffed at even within the industry, but I figured the experience couldn't hurt and the environment of Chicago would sure beat a university in a cornfield in terms of opportunities it could offer me. Columbia is also a fantastic school, and I find it extremely attractive outside of the fact that they offer degrees in recording.