kick drum out of phase in one of oh's

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

christiannokes
steve albini likes it

kick drum out of phase in one of oh's

Post by christiannokes » Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:34 pm

So i have been trying to practice checking for phase issues between drum mics. today i checked the kick drum with the oh's and the left was ok but the right was phasing lower frequencies out.

Obviously I should make sure that things are cool before I record but because I am a newbie I act like a newbie.

What are some ways that you deal with this?

christiannokes
steve albini likes it

Post by christiannokes » Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:38 pm

the kick is in phase with the left and 180 degrees out with right.

christiannokes
steve albini likes it

Post by christiannokes » Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:15 pm

and the kick drum sounds in phase when it reaches the two oh's.

Randy
tinnitus

Re: kick drum out of phase in one of oh's

Post by Randy » Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:41 pm

christiannokes wrote:So i have been trying to practice checking for phase issues between drum mics. today i checked the kick drum with the oh's and the left was ok but the right was phasing lower frequencies out.

Obviously I should make sure that things are cool before I record but because I am a newbie I act like a newbie.

What are some ways that you deal with this?
What type of OH configuration do you have? Is it a spaced pair? If so, there are a lot of things to watch out for, especially distances of the mics to the drums and to each other. For instance, if you have the OHs placed so they are the same distance away from the snare, you shouldn't have problems with the snare, but you may have a problem with the kick.

The trick is finding a place where the two OH mics are equal in distance from both the snare and the kick. All the other drums and cymbals will be out of phase, obviously, because that's what causes the stereo effect.