comp/limiters in series for vox: fast, slow, order etc..

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

runrunrun
re-cappin' neve

comp/limiters in series for vox: fast, slow, order etc..

Post by runrunrun » Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:59 pm

i know there isnt going to be a hard and fast answer, just curious as to what others are doing.

say i am doing vocals and tracking with a compressor, taking off a few dbs, and then doing a few more at mixdown.

what are the advantages to doing the limiting first and then compressing or vice versa? do you tend to use something with a slow attack first and then something quicker or the other way around. any other tips for chaining comps on vox?

Mane1234
re-cappin' neve

Post by Mane1234 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 7:47 pm

Based on something I read in a previous post which served as just a random starting point since I'm new to stringing compressors as well I use someting to just get the peaks on the first comp, so pretty fast attack and fast release with a high threshold and maybe about a 2:1 ratio. Then the next one is going to be something for trying to fatten up the vocal and make it sit in the mix if it needs it. Probably like either the Meek plugin or the Urei LA 4. So moderate attack and quick release and whatever ratio I need. Nothing severe though. I'm still working with all this but so far but the basic principle was, and I think it was something Joel posted which was along the lines of why try and make one compressor do everything. Line up a couple and get them to do different things. I've tried a few different arrangements especially on the mix buss...sometimes it works and sometimes it sounds like crap.
Of course I've had it in the ear before.....

mwingerski
pushin' record

Post by mwingerski » Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:10 pm