NS-10m monitors and the amps that power them

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Jeff White
ghost haunting audio students

NS-10m monitors and the amps that power them

Post by Jeff White » Fri Sep 28, 2007 7:31 am

I know that this is the place to ask about NS-10m stuff.

I snagged a set last night off of ebay for $306 + ship. I have about three yrs experience with NS-10m monitors, and say what you want, love 'em or hate 'em, I like to mix on them. I used them at school in the 1990s, at friends' places now and then, etc.

So, my question is, what power amp should I pair these with? Can I use a vintage 1970s Pioneer Receiver for a while? Should I look at audiophile hi-fi power amps or pro audio types?

Also, how difficult is it to put a fuse before the tweeters and how will this mess with the sounds?

Thanks!

Jeff
I record, mix, and master in my Philly-based home studio, the Spacement. https://linktr.ee/ipressrecord

@?,*???&?
on a wing and a prayer

Post by @?,*???&? » Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:16 am

Great deal. You will do your best on these.

We had a Hafler Pro 5000 and a Studer A? series amp for our monitors and invariably, the Studer was always used on the NS10s. Sounded great. The only other studio in Los Angeles that I knew of using the same amp on them was the old A & M.

scott anthony
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by scott anthony » Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:24 am

If you've got a Bryston laying about... ;)

You can use the Rat Shack in-line fuse holders (never liked the sound, but good for visitors, or basics getting drum sounds) on the red going into the speaker. That way you can change your mind easily. 1 amp fast-blo is very conservative, 1.5 amp is more typical. 2 amp will be better than none if you keep blowing them. Any higher is a waste of time...

crow
steve albini likes it

Post by crow » Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:59 am