New To Computer Recording, Suggestions For Basic Setup

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

mattjohnson
audio school graduate

New To Computer Recording, Suggestions For Basic Setup

Post by mattjohnson » Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:21 pm

I am new to computer recording so I'm not sure what I need as far as a basic setup goes? I have yet to purchase anything and I'm trying to figure out what would be a good setup to start out with. I was looking at PC DAWs like Acid Pro 6 because I heard that it was easy to work with. What kind of interface/mic pre would you recommend? Should I get a new sound card as well? I know all of these questions may sound elementary, but I am new to all of this so any suggestions or examples of basic setups would be great. Thanks.

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:02 am

I'd jump right in and get Pro Tools LE and an Mbox. If you're going to do work that travels through different studios you're going to run into Pro Tools somewhere. You may as well learn it now.

Phiz
buyin' gear

Post by Phiz » Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:32 am

Are you new to computer recording, or new to recording in general? What type of projects do you envision yourself working on?

It is very unlikely that you will use your sound card once you have a recording interface, so don't spend any money on that. All of the interfaces except for the very high end have audio outputs. Thus you will use these I/Os instead of your sound card. I don't think I've ever enabled the integrated sound card in my computer.

mattjohnson
audio school graduate

Post by mattjohnson » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:57 am