top3 tape machines

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

tubebrain
audio school

top3 tape machines

Post by tubebrain » Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:31 pm

Hi there, this is an opinion-oriented thread, I just wanted to see what you guys think, and what reputations various machines have

so what would you say would be your first 3 choices in category of warmest, smoothest ,sweetest sounding, tape machine:

a) for mastering (2-track, 4-track machines of any tape format)

b) for multi-tracking (2'' machines, 24-track or 16-track)

regardless of cost, and maintenance, just sound

getreel
carpal tunnel

Post by getreel » Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:38 pm

For 2", I'd say the Ampex MM1200 and later model MCI JH16 "cream top" are the tops sound wise. Many also seem to like the 3M models sounds but they are tougher to get service for from what I understand. Reliability and sound-wise, the Studers seem to be IT. I have no experience with Studers directly, just going on what I've heard. I own a JH16 and it is super good sounding, and maintainence and service are fairly straight forward. I've figured out how to work on mine and was able to sign up for a support service from Steve at Blevins for it. That helped a lot. I'm gonna be sad when I have to get rid of it, but family life is increasingly encroaching on my music time. I've owned an Otari 2 track but I basically never used it so can't comment much on that. I've not had much experience with 2 track analog so maybe someone else can comment. Tape is fun but mostly why would you want to mess with it when digital stuff sounds so good now.
Last edited by getreel on Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tubebrain
audio school

Post by tubebrain » Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:47 pm

Thanks for the input, by the way what do you mean by "cream top"?

inverseroom
on a wing and a prayer

Post by inverseroom » Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:50 pm