How the hell do people in my situation set rates?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

bplr
takin' a dinner break

How the hell do people in my situation set rates?

Post by bplr » Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:26 pm

So here's my situation:

I've been recording for about 5 or 6 years on a modest prosumer setup (digi002, powerbook, LA610, Eureka, RNP/RNC, MK012's, C1, M260, 57/58, D112, etc...). Basically, I've done my research on gear that gives good bang for buck. I work out of a small 3 bedroom apt where the living room is my control room, and each room can work as iso booths. It is just barely capable of recording a 3-4 piece band. My neighbors don't mind me recording during the day, but I can't really track later than about 8 pm, so I can't really squeeze in a full 10 hour day. I live directly under the flight path for the airport, although it's about 15-20 miles away. From time to time, a plane ruins a good take. I usually just try to keep the mic's as close to the instruments as possible, and things typically come out pretty clean. Across the street is an elementary school. Between 2 and about 3:30, buses create unavoidable bass. If it's noticeable, I can usually spot clean little sections with some EQ in the mix. As a result of these limitations, I've become a cheap staple for a couple guys who feel that a little background noise is good vibe on a recording, and they actually prefer me to dirty things up a bit. (even to the point of adding funk logic masterizer "fake hiss")

I've gotten pretty good at working around my limitations. What I lack in proper facility, I provide in comfortability, easy vibe, quickness and, in the end, a relatively solid recording. After working with a couple of well regarded local musicians, I'm starting to get requests for recording work by bands. Explaining the situation can be a touch humbling, and difficult to get their trust.