My life depends on this. Literally.

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Griffunk
audio school

My life depends on this. Literally.

Post by Griffunk » Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:40 pm

Ive got quite a scenario, and I need some answers.

Im recording a four piece rock band live. The band is a chili peppers esque funk rock band. Their instrumentation consists of two elec. guitars, one electric bass, and a 4 piece drum kit. Vocals will be overdubbed. The singer also plays guitar and wants to do a scratch vocal track. The room Im recording in is a pretty big place with a weird echo, and almost no acoustics. Should I isolate any of the instruments? Should I use DI on any instruments? What kind of mics would be the best choice for each instrument and a live room mic? (polar pattern, etc.) Im very new to recording so itd be a huge help if I could get as much feedback as possible on this. I have a pretty big mic selection for an aspiring engineer due to my schools selection. The room has a good iso booth, a half ass control room, and a big but echoey live room. Go into as much detail as you possibly can.

The gig is thursday, and Im in over my head as it is, If I could get some good responses, you literally would save my life.

OM15.2
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by OM15.2 » Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:10 pm

tell us about the part where you are going to die if this goes wrong?! What is it? terminal audio related disease? hit man? angry ex wife of the drummer?

WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN TO YOU!?

signed,
concerned

Jess P
takin' a dinner break

Post by Jess P » Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:36 pm

Forget recording the band, you should skip town and lay low. Post us when you reach the "safe house."

markmeat
pushin' record

Post by markmeat » Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:37 pm

What is going on here... this is the third nearly identical post by three different usernames?!?!? This isn't funny.

MEAT