mic terminations?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

mic terminations?

Post by junomat » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:55 am

hey

what do most people use to terminate mic cabling in the control room?

do you just use a panel of female xlrs?

User avatar
scott anthony
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: jersey
Contact:

Post by scott anthony » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:02 am

A patch bay is preferred, but if that's not practical, plug each cable into it's own pre and label the snake inputs (or individual cables) in the studio by preamp. I do a combo in my workspace...

junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by junomat » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:05 am

scott anthony wrote:A patch bay is preferred, but if that's not practical, plug each cable into it's own pre and label the snake inputs (or individual cables) in the studio by preamp. I do a combo in my workspace...
right...

but i am talking about taking the cabling from the studio to the control room in the walls... people use a panel, right?

Nate Dort
tinnitus
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Nate Dort » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:45 am

I'm planning on tackling this job in the near future. I'll have mic runs all over my house, and I'll terminate them to a panel in the control room. Lots of studios use Elco connectors and then run a 24 channel snake to the patchbay. I'll probably use 4 panel-mounted DB-25 connectors for my 32 lines for two reasons: a) they're cheap and b) we've got a DB25 panel punch at work so I can make my own stainless steel panels from blank 2-gang panels (again, cheap).

User avatar
scott anthony
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: jersey
Contact:

Post by scott anthony » Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:17 am

junomat wrote:
scott anthony wrote:A patch bay is preferred, but if that's not practical, plug each cable into it's own pre and label the snake inputs (or individual cables) in the studio by preamp. I do a combo in my workspace...
right...

but i am talking about taking the cabling from the studio to the control room in the walls... people use a panel, right?
Yep, a panel is the best way... sorry... I didn't understand but took a poke...

junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by junomat » Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:46 am

elco.... hmmm, that's not a bad idea!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests