recorded in protools LE, need to mix in sonar

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

ethanm56
audio school

recorded in protools LE, need to mix in sonar

Post by ethanm56 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:41 pm

hey, important question for the board:

i'm not a complete beginner, but definitely not very experienced in the field of recording. basically, i intended to record a little demo and just do the basic mixes myself in protools LE with the t-racks plugin that came with pro tools. the recordings sound great now for a demo, but they turned out WAY better than i had planned and the project grew much much faster than i thought it would. there's genuine interest in us having an album and we've been getting a lot of shows.

so basically, i know that mixing & "mastering" (i don't intend to get it <i>truly</i> mastered) is well beyond my capability, so i'm going to work with a friend who has plenty of experience mixing & mastering to a level that a first album needs to be.

the problem is, i have songs with twenty tracks in the ptf protools format, and my friend works with sonar. is there any relatively easy way to either:

- convert the ptf file into a format that sonar can open so that all the tracks are in the correct place and don't have to be aligned
- manipulate the individual tracks in pro tools so that they all can begin at the same time as a track that lasts the entire length of the song, so that all we have to do is load each track into sonar

hopefully the way i explained this makes some sense, let me know if it doesnt!

i really really appreciate any help you guys have, and i wish i'd found this community sooner!

thanks,

-
ethan.

RodC
dead but not forgotten

Post by RodC » Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:51 pm

Bounce everthing to full lenth tracks, or export look at OMF file format. Sonar will read them, Im not sure if LE will export them.