What should I invest in next?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

5thString
studio intern

What should I invest in next?

Post by 5thString » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:19 am

Hello.

This is my first post here. I spent some time reading and learning already, and i posted the same question on other forums as well.

Oh and, thanks a thousand times for the awesome Tape Op magazine!! I * just * LOVE * it!!

Here's my gear (I am an absolute beginner!):

iMac 2.4Ghz
M-Audio Firewire Solo
M-Audio StudioPro 3
Shure sm81 + sm57 + vp64

I'm recording an acoustic guitar, a 4x12" fender bass amp, some harmonica, tambourine and simple percussions, and my voice.

So now that I'm getting serious about it, I am wondering what the next step would be. Let's say I am to spend $1000 to $1400 in some new gear, where should I start? New monitors? A "good" all-in-one audio interface such as the Fireface 400? New *good* mic preamps with a better A/D converters later on in mind?

I'm stuck just because I can't figure out the best action plan to reach excellency on a few years timeline. Can you please give me advices?

lyle76
takin' a dinner break

Post by lyle76 » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:26 am

how bout a LDC? something cheap like a 4033, or a 4047?

what are your goals? what have you recorded so far? the more time you spend with your equipment, the less likely you are to invest in something you don't need. become proficient with what you have, than you'll figure out what you need to invest in.
"meow" - a cat

5thString
studio intern

Post by 5thString » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:38 am

You're right, I forgot to mention that I mainly record pop/rock songs, with strong 60's british pop influences.

As for the LDC, I have access to a M-Audio Luna. I'm thinking about buying a Sputnik at some point, or one of those "not so expensive" U46 or c12 clones, like one of the Advance Audio Microphones.

A.David.MacKinnon