Amp recommendations

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

curtiswyant
re-cappin' neve

Amp recommendations

Post by curtiswyant » Mon Mar 31, 2008 12:29 pm

Hi all, I recently started playing guitar in a rock 'n' roll band and my little Vibrochamp just isn't cutting it :cry:
I'd use my Egnater TOL head but the other guitarist is too poor to afford an amp! So, I think I need to get a new amp. I basically want a louder version of my silverface champ with reverb and tremolo, under $500. ???

stooge
alignin' 24-trk

Re: Amp recommendations

Post by stooge » Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:51 pm

curtiswyant wrote:Hi all, I recently started playing guitar in a rock 'n' roll band and my little Vibrochamp just isn't cutting it :cry:
I'd use my Egnater TOL head but the other guitarist is too poor to afford an amp! So, I think I need to get a new amp. I basically want a louder version of my silverface champ with reverb and tremolo, under $500. ???
If you've already got a cabinet, I'd probably recommend a silverface bandmaster reverb head...it's big and ungainly looking, but they can be found in the $400-$500 range...40 watts, tremolo, and reverb.

VelvetoneStudios
takin' a dinner break

Post by VelvetoneStudios » Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:20 pm

The sickest amp in that range is the Fender Blues Jr.(ca $250 used) It's got a stellar tone and at 15 true tube watts it's got plenty of stage volume. If it's not loud enough for where you're playing, chances are the club will mic it into the P.A. anyway. It gets tones from country twang to fuzzed out acid in a tiny and reliable package. (excluding the solid state 'verb that tends to wear out over time) If you dont like the sound of it's open back speaker, use a female/female adapter and speaker cable to your cab. When these first came out I used one onstage facing up to 15,000 heads. Cheap, vibey and reliable, not to mention light and VERY portable!
Thanx,
Tony C.