Any ideas on using a TEAC 2340r reel to reel

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

kingsburymusic
audio school

Any ideas on using a TEAC 2340r reel to reel

Post by kingsburymusic » Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:46 pm

So I've been reading Tape Op for a few years, but I'm new to this whole forum thing. My uncle gave me a TEAC 2340r, an early 70s reel to reel 4-track, and I was wondering what sort of creative applications I could use it for.

I record everything on my g4 mac with a 002 in Pro Tools. I've got a few great mics, a sytek pre, and usually only track myself and my band. My studio is pretty straight forward.

Any ideas on how I can use this tape machine? maybe send my mixes to tape and then bring them back into pro tools? Or use it for tape delays?

Thanks.

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:51 pm

Track drums to it and then dump them into the computer.

dsw
tinnitus

Post by dsw » Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:10 pm

"take this brother, may it serve you well"
"number 9" "number 9" "number 9"

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:12 pm

Also - tape delay, tape loop craziness (put some masking tape over the erase head and build up sounds on the loop), mix down, backwards guitar solos, etc, etc, etc.

kingsburymusic
audio school

Re: Any ideas on using a TEAC 2340r reel to reel

Post by kingsburymusic » Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:45 am

Thanks for the tips. Is there any basic upkeep that I need to do with this? The tape speed changes as it plays, so I'm guessing it's a belt. This is my first experience in the tape world, so any general maintenance info would be great.

gevermil
takin' a dinner break

Post by gevermil » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:07 am

Record the whole band live
dont over crush the drums
push the guitar harder to tape
find the sweet spots .
keep the speed at the highest setting