cascade fathead for flute?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

randrohe
takin' a dinner break

cascade fathead for flute?

Post by randrohe » Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:11 pm

Any one have any experience working w/ these on this instrument? I have never used a ribbon before and was wondering if this is one of their strong points.
Thanks,
Rand

JWL
deaf.

Post by JWL » Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:30 pm

I'd probably avoid using a ribbon for 2 reasons.

First, the overtunes of the flute are very high frequencies, and I think a condenser would pick it up better. Might be cool though, who knows?

Second, breath/gusts of air can damage the fragile ribbon inside the mic. Might not be the safest thing for the mic.

nordberg
pushin' record

Post by nordberg » Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:34 pm

in a dense mix i'd say go for it. in a sparse one i'd stick with the condensers. i never put a mic near the flautist's mouth so the breath problem hasn't been an issue, but i put 'em on kick drums too so don't listen to me!
A gaggle of geese? A tangle of cables!

ned
alignin' 24-trk

Post by ned » Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:02 pm

i would suggest that you check out this post on that other board

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/823495-post18.html

i'm assuming that the coles 4040s are going to be in a different league than the fathead, but i don't think you should rule out ribbons if you want that "you are there" sound.

Jay Reynolds
carpal tunnel

Post by Jay Reynolds » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:10 am