iTunes-LAME Encoder

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
btswire
gettin' sounds
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:56 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

iTunes-LAME Encoder

Post by btswire » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Has anyone used this? Any opinions?

rwc
resurrected
Posts: 2333
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Bed Stuy, Brooklyn

Post by rwc » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:56 pm

http://www.rjamorim.com/test/mp3-128/results.html

iTunes' stock encoder is garbage.
Real friends stab you in the front.

Oscar Wilde

Failed audio engineer & pro studio tech turned Component level motherboard repair store in New York

Veej007
gimme a little kick & snare
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 10:03 pm

Post by Veej007 » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:15 pm

I do my compression in Windows so the last time I used iTunes-LAME was a few years back, but if I remember correctly the included version of LAME was way outdated... 3.90.3, even. I switched it to a newer one by editing the package contents but then some of the encoder configuration commands didn't work properly.

I'd probably use the "real" LAME instead via Max.[/url]

User avatar
Jon~T
gettin' sounds
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:04 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by Jon~T » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:33 pm

I use RazorLame for my mp3 conversion on Windows

If I were on mac I'd be using LameBrain

Johnny B
pushin' record
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post by Johnny B » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:22 am

No, because I don't like iTunes ripper, either. I do use LAME with Exact Audio Copy as a front-end. Totally smokes the iTunes encoder. At the "standard" preset setting I can almost not hear the weirdness in the cymbals on Ramones albums or in the audience on live recordings. The plus to using a front-end is that you can easily upgrade LAME when a new version is released. It doesn't usually break anything and you can take advantage of added features by using custom commands.

User avatar
wrenhunter
pushin' record
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Post by wrenhunter » Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:11 pm

Yes, I use it. As long as you have the latest version of iTunes and the plugin, you're good. The quality is always good, it's just there were some tagging issues a short while back.

I am using Mac 10.5 Intel on a Mini.
All the boys with their homemade microphones have very interesting sounds. -- Dan Behar

btswire
gettin' sounds
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:56 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by btswire » Sun Oct 05, 2008 1:30 am

I'm not having any luck getting Itunes lame to work. I already installed lame 3.97, and am running Itunes 7.0.2. I've heard about others that have later versions of Itunes that have had problems. Could someone who has gotten this to work please let me know the exact version of Itunes and Itunes lame that you are using? Thanks.

User avatar
jmpace
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:01 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by jmpace » Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:45 pm

Works great for me with iTunes 7.7.1 (not a fan of 8). I think that the itunes-lame program does the ripping and then they just get transferred to itunes. I usually use this setting

-V 0--vbr-new
I'm bringin' lumberjack back!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 43 guests