Once ITB, does chain order matter?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

User avatar
RedCrownStudios
pushin' record
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contact:

Once ITB, does chain order matter?

Post by RedCrownStudios » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:06 pm

Once the band is in the box, PT in this case, is there any difference in what order you place the plugins?

I have almost always been going EQ->Compressor->Verb

Should I be going Compressor->EQ->Verb or what?

(I dont always use verb, just using this as an example)

Does it make a difference?

Be gentle, I have been recording a long time, but am self taught.
Marshall Baker
Media Designer
Tulsa, Ok
www.MarshallBaker.com
www.MarshallandRoxy.com

User avatar
Mr. Dipity
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:29 am

Re: Once ITB, does chain order matter?

Post by Mr. Dipity » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:18 pm

It certainly does make a difference. EQ is going to alter the energy of the wave, which will alter the response of the compressor ( ie louder sounds will get clamped down on, quieter ones will not)

Which one 'should' you do depends on what you are trying to do. Your best bet is to plug things in both ways and figure out what you need in each situation.

User avatar
RodC
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2039
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Right outside the door
Contact:

Re: Once ITB, does chain order matter?

Post by RodC » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:23 pm

Mr. Dipity wrote:It certainly does make a difference. EQ is going to alter the energy of the wave, which will alter the response of the compressor ( ie louder sounds will get clamped down on, quieter ones will not)

Which one 'should' you do depends on what you are trying to do. Your best bet is to plug things in both ways and figure out what you need in each situation.
+1

You should be able to hear the difference. Leave all the settings the same and move the order around while you playback. Sonar will allow you to do this just by dragging them around in the effects bin.
'Well, I've been to one world fair, a picnic, and a rodeo, and that's the stupidest thing I ever heard come over a set of earphones'

http://www.beyondsanityproductions.com
http://www.myspace.com/beyondsanity

User avatar
the finger genius
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 746
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 1:32 pm

Post by the finger genius » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:25 pm

Mr Dipity is correct. It matters in all the same ways that it would matter out of the box.
vvv wrote:
That said, what I'm gettin' at is, perfectionism is for the truly defective.

You may quote me.
_________________

The Scum
resurrected
Posts: 2425
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Post by The Scum » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:56 pm

Does it make a difference?
Yes, it does. And it's no different betwwen ITB and OTB.

Let's consider a quick example: your chain with compression and EQ.

If you put the EQ first, by cutting or boosting a band, you make the compressor more or less sensitive to that band. If you boost the lows of a bass guitar, then compress that signal, the compressor will compress more strongly when the lows become prominent. This is sometimes convenient, and is sometimes counterintuitive...you've turned the lows up, but the compressor is whacking them back even more. If you do this with a high-boost and a high-ratio compressor, it can act a bit like a de-esser.

If you compress first, then you might be smoothing out the signal. Following that with an EQ, you can change a band and the compressor response doesn't change any. It behaves a little more predictably.

But they're both different and both useful. Just more tools for you toolbox.

I find that EQ->compressor->EQ is sometimes useful.
Last edited by The Scum on Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RedCrownStudios
pushin' record
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by RedCrownStudios » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:57 pm

True enough, I mostly was asking because I seems like all those "all in wonder" preamp eq etc boxes tend to go as such;

preamp->eq->compressor. (such as the ART box etc)

It seems that there is a school of thought behind that and although I can hear a difference in PT when they are moved around, I was wondering why the hardware boxes tend to be made this way.

software tends to emulate hardware etc......
Marshall Baker
Media Designer
Tulsa, Ok
www.MarshallBaker.com
www.MarshallandRoxy.com

The Scum
resurrected
Posts: 2425
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Post by The Scum » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:01 pm

The really good all-in-one boxes (Focusrite, SSL, Amek) actually let you change the order of the processing for exactly these reasons.

User avatar
JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3035
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: crooklyn, ny
Contact:

Post by JohnDavisNYC » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:28 pm

real engineers don't use all in one boxes...

j/k

but actually, i have always thought those things suck, sometimes for that very reason... the Manley VOXBOX is a total turd, as is the Focusrite Producer Pack... too many functions, too small a powersupply, and not enough care put into each part of the puzzle...

seperate, discrete units are better for the flexibility and performance.

john
i like to make music with music and stuff and things.

http://www.thebunkerstudio.com/

RefD
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5993
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:10 pm

Post by RefD » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:35 pm

toaster3000 wrote:but actually, i have always thought those things suck, sometimes for that very reason... the Manley VOXBOX is a total turd, as is the Focusrite Producer Pack... too many functions, too small a powersupply, and not enough care put into each part of the puzzle...

seperate, discrete units are better for the flexibility and performance.
yah, but what about the Quartet II?

exception that proves the rule?
?What need is there to weep over parts of life? The whole of it calls for tears.? -- Seneca

User avatar
RedCrownStudios
pushin' record
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by RedCrownStudios » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:41 pm

Great googa munga!

Quartet II is expensive.
Marshall Baker
Media Designer
Tulsa, Ok
www.MarshallBaker.com
www.MarshallandRoxy.com

RefD
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5993
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:10 pm

Post by RefD » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:44 pm

RedCrownStudios wrote:Great googa munga!

Quartet II is expensive.
it is that.

but you do pretty much get what you paid for.
?What need is there to weep over parts of life? The whole of it calls for tears.? -- Seneca

User avatar
JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3035
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: crooklyn, ny
Contact:

Post by JohnDavisNYC » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:44 pm

i haven't used the quartet, but i imagine it is great... from all that i have heard about it.

john
i like to make music with music and stuff and things.

http://www.thebunkerstudio.com/

rwc
resurrected
Posts: 2333
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Bed Stuy, Brooklyn

Post by rwc » Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:28 pm

i wasn't sure when i started so I tried making a gate before a comp, and vice versa

it does make a difference. this is the simplest way I can demonstrate it.
Real friends stab you in the front.

Oscar Wilde

Failed audio engineer & pro studio tech turned Component level motherboard repair store in New York

User avatar
@?,*???&?
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5804
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 4:36 pm
Location: Just left on the FM dial
Contact:

Post by @?,*???&? » Fri Aug 15, 2008 9:19 am

Yes, the sequence of plugins can change the sound.

One flaw to what you've suggested is to be inserting reverbs.

That saps processing power quickly when you have separate reverbs inserted on individual audio tracks. Rather, set-up aux returns and insert reverbs there. Leave those reverb mix settings at 100% wet. Use an internal aux or buss to get to the reverb and then you can buss individual tracks to the reverbs and send more than one thing into the plugin- rather than only having one plugin per audio track.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4800
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Once ITB, does chain order matter?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:50 pm

RedCrownStudios wrote:Once the band is in the box, PT in this case, is there any difference in what order you place the plugins?

I have almost always been going EQ->Compressor->Verb

Should I be going Compressor->EQ->Verb or what?

(I dont always use verb, just using this as an example)

Does it make a difference?

Be gentle, I have been recording a long time, but am self taught.
Try Verb->EQ->Comp

Cheers
Realizing vibratory excursions from a paper widget.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests