"The Industry"

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

christiannokes
steve albini likes it

"The Industry"

Post by christiannokes » Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:36 pm

i am taking a business of music class at my local community college and i have a really great teacher who has been in the biz for like 30 years or something. he has told us about it from first hand experience and warns us to prepare if we are going to enter into that twisted world; Hollyweird as he puts it. his stories painted very real and very dismal pictures to me

basically I got really turned off. i love the art of music and recording that music. that is why i started learning about how to mix and have been playing guitar for 14 years.
i love the idea of not having to worry about getting fucked over and just concentrate on the music that the bands and i are recording.

i understand there is the business part of music that i must concern myself with if i want to make any living out of it. I wish it could be as simple as, "record the band's project, and they pay me when i give them the final product".

Is this what you guys do? is it that simple? if not, how is it more complicated? can i be making even a part time living off of recording without having to deal with the scum in the major label arena that is slowly dying off.

how are you guys doing? are any of you working for major labels or the kind of bummers that can come along with that? tell me some stories please

Gentleman Jim
buyin' a studio

Post by Gentleman Jim » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:43 pm

christiannokes wrote:
Hollyweird
Huh... I don't know what that means.

Do you mean Weirdo-wood?

RefD
on a wing and a prayer

Post by RefD » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:25 pm

Gentleman Jim wrote:christiannokes wrote:
Hollyweird
Huh... I don't know what that means.

Do you mean Weirdo-wood?
*posts "giver" pic from old goatse.cx site*