What is the Deltalab Effectron I? What's the Effectron 256?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

User avatar
calaverasgrandes
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Oakland
Contact:

Post by calaverasgrandes » Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:41 am

I have to say I have broken 3 effectrons.
never could find anyone to fix them.
No idea how I broke em.
??????? wrote: "everything sounds best right before it blows up."

User avatar
ballpein
pushin' record
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:20 am
Location: canada

Post by ballpein » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:54 pm

calaverasgrandes wrote:I have to say I have broken 3 effectrons.
never could find anyone to fix them.
No idea how I broke em.
I've gotta say, the innards of mine don't look terribly robust. The pots, switches, connectors are all pretty cheapish, and there's very little clearance between the bottom of the board and the case. It wouldn't take much to knock a connection loose or short something.

User avatar
calaverasgrandes
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Oakland
Contact:

Post by calaverasgrandes » Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:04 pm

I used to run one in my FOH rig and also had one in my bass amps effect loop. I loved how it sounded on vocal delays. Dale from Acid King (also Melvins) complemented me once on the vocal sound I got with that.
On bass it was a neat flanger, plus you could hit repeat hold and walk off the stage as the drummer kept smashing into oblivion while your amp is cycling up and down the repeat.
??????? wrote: "everything sounds best right before it blows up."

RefD
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5993
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:10 pm

Post by RefD » Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:08 pm

shedshrine wrote:
ballpein wrote: I'd like to recap it, add some memory, and build a pedal for it.
..and then post copious notes and photos about the process. :D
guts of mine (sorry for the widthiness!):

Image
Image

the red tube is the battery for the memory, which on mine still works.

i think it has been replaced a few times on this unit.
?What need is there to weep over parts of life? The whole of it calls for tears.? -- Seneca

User avatar
shedshrine
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1569
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: sf bay area

Post by shedshrine » Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:48 pm

cool pics Ref!


TapeOp diy link for making a transformer box for the effectron


effectron trivia: Lose a knob?
Image
Symetrix 501's have the exact same knob design, only all white.(click it)
Last edited by shedshrine on Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nate Dort
tinnitus
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Nate Dort » Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:30 am

Effectron II schematics:

http://www.stecrecords.com/gear/DeltaLab/1024/index.php

WARNING: Huge jpeg images

User avatar
ballpein
pushin' record
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:20 am
Location: canada

Post by ballpein » Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:07 pm

Awesome Nate, thanks a lot for sharing those.

Nate Dort
tinnitus
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Nate Dort » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:38 am

Don't know if this has been posted yet either:

http://home.debitel.net/user/jhaible/jh ... _loop.html

Basically, you're looping the data stream from the RAM back into itself to create and infinite loop, but you're also piggybacking another set of RAM chips, so you can send data into those as well and create longer loops.

I think the procedure would be the same for the 1024. I'm going to try it with my 1020 at some point. Finding those RAM chips may be difficult though. May have to scavenge them from something else.

User avatar
ballpein
pushin' record
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:20 am
Location: canada

Post by ballpein » Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:55 pm

can anyone recommend a suitable replacement for the internal battery? Or could I just replace it with a jumper?

sonichermit
audio school
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 8:25 am
Location: Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Delta Lab Effectron

Post by sonichermit » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:03 pm

I'm wondering if anyone here can give me some info. I have an effectron, 1024, not the effectron II. I am currently trying to get this unit up and running again. I am not at all sure what is wrong with it. I have schematics but they are for the Effectron II. Apparently there are some differences between the effectron and the effectron II as looking at the schematics and checking values, particularly on resistors there are some differences. Does anyone here have the schematics for this model. Effectron ADM1024? So far I have swapped out the two large capacitors in the power supply section given that they are over 30 years old. Have checked some of the other components. What would be particularly helpful is the parts list for this unit. Mfgr. frequently include this in the user/maintennance manual. If anyone here has any info it would be most appreciated. Thanks

User avatar
shedshrine
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1569
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: sf bay area

Re: What is the Deltalab Effectron I? What's the Effectron 256?

Post by shedshrine » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:11 pm

http://www.preservationsound.com/?p=2088

scroll down to read a letter from Richard E. DeFreitas , founder and creator of the effectron line.

User avatar
shedshrine
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1569
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: sf bay area

Re: What is the Deltalab Effectron I? What's the Effectron 256?

Post by shedshrine » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:26 pm

Perhaps even more cool is that Chuck Fertitta checked in there with some advice for getting units working again...


"I worked at Deltalab Research back in the early 80’s in manufacturing and service. If my memory serves me correctly… check the pots’ connections to the PCB. One or more pots may have a hairline fracture, thus breaking the connection. This was a typical problem we found in repairing the units. To make the unit(s) more “road worthy” – try replacing the pots and soldering wires from the pots down to the PCB. A second item to check would be any of the input amplifiers (op-amps). May have blown due to static discharge.

Also, the Effectron was the initial model with 1024MB of memory. When we later expanded the line – the Effectron was rebranded the Effectron II. The Effectron II included upgrades to improve the sound, thus the mismatch in parts."

Good luck!
Chuck

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests