Tube pres that function like Altec 1566A or 1567A?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

atavacron
steve albini likes it

Tube pres that function like Altec 1566A or 1567A?

Post by atavacron » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:41 pm

So I'm just learning about the Altec green face gear now. These look like great, simple circuits, and clearly people have been getting wonderful sounds out of them since the '60s.

Can anyone suggest comparable tube pres, hopefully with a little less collector's hype? Wouldn't necessarily have to be vintage. Here's my criteria:

- All tube gain stages
- Have the option of balanced 600ohm or unbalanced hi-z input
- Balanced output
- At least 60-70db of gain - my Urei 7510As (got modules?) max out at 50db and I'm looking for something more amenable to my ribbons
- Less than $400 per channel (channel meaning in and out)

...and then here are the lesser criteria:

- point to point wiring
- dual mono in one package would be nice

Thanks!

Here's the schematic for the Altec 1567A five-channel mono mixer:
http://boozhoundlabs.com/microphone-pre ... -1567a.gif

Here's the schematic for the Altec 1566A single-channel mic pre:
http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electron ... c1566a.jpg

atavacron
steve albini likes it

Post by atavacron » Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:51 pm

bump.

c'mon, give a noob a break.

Gebo
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Gebo » Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:08 am

I just got an Ampex 600, which has a pre that is suppose to be similar to the Ampex 300 series. I think, but Im not positive, that they are along the same lines. I got the 600 for 70 dollars, although it needs to be modded into a stand alone pre.
As it was in the begining, so shall it be in the end...

Recycled_Brains
resurrected

Post by Recycled_Brains » Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:28 am