Why is gear so expensive and why not more vintage DIY?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

delphonic
studio intern

Why is gear so expensive and why not more vintage DIY?

Post by delphonic » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:47 am

There is something I don?t understand about some the insanely expensive pro and high-end gear, especially those based on designs that have been around for decades. I am mainly referring to components like compressors and preamps. I have a degree in electrical engineering and have worked with some layout designs (but not with consumer electronics). What I don?t understand is ? PCBs are not expensive to make, and most electronic components are dirt-cheap. I can see how some of the transformers are more expensive, some VLAs, and even some pots and caps - but not much more than a few hundred dollars. I?ve had custom enclosures designed and machined, and they?re not that expensive (relatively). Most of the guts of all these circuits are long out of patent protection, and a lot of the layout is going to be standard. I can understand that a new company trying to reinvent the wheel will have a lot of engineering time and development, sales, marketing, product support, production costs ?etc. That makes a little more sense (especially those that integrate more digital and current tech). But I guess I?m surprised there isn?t a stronger market for the DIY (or even pseudo-DIY) for circuits that have long been in existence and less susceptible to protection problems (maybe I?m missing something with that?). I?ve made a few Hamptone and Seventh Circle Audio (which were both nice), and seen a few DIY designs like Gyratec (but trying to deal with things like the SSL clone and the nightmare that is the million posts of discussion forums is difficult for me to even consider). But some criticize these as not ?top of the line? ?even though I see the ?real thing? receiving such praise. (Which is funn