Favorite mastering plugins

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

getreel
carpal tunnel

Favorite mastering plugins

Post by getreel » Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:35 pm

I'm still fairly new to the DAW world and recently have had the need to master some material. I used to dabble in a little mastering back in the 90s using Sound Forge 4 or Wave Lab. I'm thinking of using something like that again, probably Sound Forge 9 but haven't totally made up my mind yet. I know I'll need some plugins and I've experimented with T-Racks(got it free from Tune Core when I released an EP last year) and Endorphin. I've heard talk of everything from Ozone to the L2. I haven't seen any talk here on recent threads and I didn't want to dig through 40 something pages of search but I looked at the first few and didn't see much. Also, things tend to change rapidly in the DAW world. What are some of you guys getting the best results with? What's your favorite to use? Use vs sound quality and how easy to figure out how to get great sounds??

digitaldrummer
cryogenically thawing

Post by digitaldrummer » Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:58 pm

I bought Ozone and used it for a few projects that didn't have budget for real mastering. I think it worked pretty well. they also have a pretty good "white paper" that explains a little about how & where to use it, etc. I would usually start with one of the presets and then adjust from there. I certainly don't consider myself a mastering engineer as a result...

Mike
Mike
www.studiodrumtracks.com -- Drum tracks starting at $50!
www.doubledogrecording.com

getreel
carpal tunnel

Post by getreel » Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:05 pm