Can I open a Pro Tools 7.3 HD file in ProTools 7.1 M-Powered

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
BeepBeep
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:54 pm

Can I open a Pro Tools 7.3 HD file in ProTools 7.1 M-Powered

Post by BeepBeep » Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:36 pm

I think the subject says it all.

Can I open a Pro Tools 7.3 HD (MAC) file in Pro Tools 7.1 M-Powered (PC)? Or even if both computers were MACs.

Thanks

GooberNumber9
tinnitus
Posts: 1094
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:52 am
Location: Washington, DC

Post by GooberNumber9 » Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:39 pm

Sure! I very much doubt that the Mac/PC origin will make a difference in 7.x, assuming you're going with the default audio file format of broadcast wave.

So, when you open this file, you will probably get tons of warnings. For instance, you will probably get the hard disk allocation has changed, and that that some plug-ins could not be found, and that the I/O mapping has changed. If you want to go back and forth between those two systems, well it won't be pretty. If you just want to be able to open it up in M-Powered and work on it after fixing a bunch of stuff, you'll be fine.

There's a slim chance you'll have to re-save it on the 7.3 system to an older format, but I'm pretty sure all 7.x files are interchangeable.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests